Press Releases

Local Counties Receive Agricultural Disaster Designations from United States Department of Agriculture; Farmers in Southern Tier, Finger Lakes counties eligible to apply for drought assistance

f t # e
Washington, DC, November 29, 2012 | comments

Congressman Tom Reed announced today that seven counties in the 29th Congressional District have been granted a “disaster designation” by the United States Department of Agriculture following a poor 2012 crop season. New York State received designations in a total of 18 counties.   

“It is important that our counties receive the assistance they need following such a difficult crop year as the one we saw in 2012,” Reed said. “Our farms – from our small family farms to our large production agribusinesses – will now be able to apply for assistance and begin to recover. We need to do our part in supporting New York’s number one industry and these designations will help our farmers rebound from the damages and losses that resulted from this year’s drought.”   

Counties in the current 29th district which received primary disaster designation by the USDA include Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chemung and Monroe. Ontario, Schuyler and Steuben counties received contiguous designation.

Farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties are eligible to apply and be considered for Farm Service Agency assistance. Farmers seeking aid have eight months from the designation to apply for emergency loan assistance. The FSA will evaluate each eligible application and make loan decisions based on an individual basis.

Eligible farmers are encouraged to contact their local Farm Service Agency office for more details on emergency loan applications. Please visit for details on county designations. 


f t # e

Newsletter Sign Up